jump to navigation

Three against one. November 18, 2007

Posted by Mrs Flipphead in dogs, family, kids, pets, too cute.
trackback

So I found this little dog at the local humane society and hubby is being completely unreasonable about not allowing us to get another dog.  She is cute as a little bug’s ear. 

I have offered to take over all the cat duties but he is telling me the only way is for me to have two of our cats put to sleep.  One is very ill and I probably should have her put down, but the other two are completely healthy (more or less) and the only reason that hubby put this stipulation on it, is because he knows there is no way I would ever put down a healthy animal (that I love, mind you) to take in another one.

Rosie is spayed, has all her shots, she’s a she, she has short hair and she only weighs 30lbs.  She stands about knee high.  She is a bassett mix.  They say she is really affectionate, good with kids, cats and other dogs.  All of the above were the criteria that we talked about when it would be time to get another dog.

Here are some pictures of her:

Rosie closeup    Rosie sitting nice    Rosie looking up

Isn’t she just about the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?  Look at those blue eyes.  She has the face of my beloved Toby (from when I was a child) and the coloring and blue eyes of my little Tundra buns, who died in February.

I told him she is all I want for Christmas.  He still says, “Absolutely not!”  He threatened divorce if I came home with another animal from the shelter.

I have had a dog my whole life.  I have never been without one, except when I was living in the dorms in undergrad, and then I had my mom’s dog back home, after Toby passed.

Don’t you think he is being completely unreasonable?

Comments»

1. jolynna - November 18, 2007

I, personally, agree with you that your husband is being unreasonable. But, I have 3 cats, two dogs (all inside pets) and two horses. So, I am biased.

I hope you and your husband can find a way to agree on this.

2. Mrs Flipphead - November 19, 2007

Jolynna-That’s what he’s afraid of. At one time, we had four cats and a dog (a husky, which sheds the fur of four regular dogs) and they were all indoor too. We are now down to three cats, one of whom has kidney failure and is a bag of bones. I don’t even know how she walks around because she doesn’t seem to have any muscles under her skin, only a skeleton. She doesn’t seem to be in any pain though and seems happy enough and she eats well so we have just been kind of waiting for her to seem like she’s miserable and in pain to take her to the vet to have the humane thing done. We are working it out.

3. carla - November 22, 2007

If he’s anything like my husband, he doesn’t want to love a dog that much again. So much so that when something happens to her, your heart is torn from your chest and the pain resides there for oh, so long. We still miss her all most 3 years later.
He relented though, for my sake. I needed her. It took a couple of months or so before she wormed her way into his heart. Now you should see the two. Norman Rockwell, ” A man and His dog”
Hang in there. She’s a beautiful dog! Oh, what a face!

4. Mrs Flipphead - November 23, 2007

Carla-I know that’s what it is. He won’t admit it, but he doesn’t want to get attached to another dog and have her leave us in the future too. She is a cutie, isn’t she?


Leave a Reply

